
the steed takes on a form that you choose. At present you can't 'charge' a higher level spell slot in order to grant a more powerful mount, because the spell is instant, and the cost would go away tomorrow, while the mount would remain. Ideally I would rewrite the spell entirely. I'd probably allow summoning things like pegasi, gryphons etc as well. If members of the party can fly all day, the paladin can choose a mount that can fly. But it still feels like the spell is just too ambiguous.Īs a DM, I'd look at what the rest of the party have access to and grant something in line with that. I mean, I get that DM's have to make calls, not everything is spelled out in 5.0, and that making a 2nd level (5th character level) spell call a CR 8 t-rex as a mount is clearly just silly. Is that a fair steed to call for the spell? (Or seriously: why not a pegasus?)


I mean: it's hard to say why you wouldn't, other than just "the DM is required to make a judgement call on what is a suitable steed and what is not." Even just something like a dire wolf doesn't seem too big of a deal until you realize that while you ride it, it will get advantage on every attack - and honestly blows the warhorse away in every other way as well. This spell just seems a bit too broad for what you could potentially do with it.Īnd I'm not even getting into whether or not you could summon something much more interesting, like a pegasus. Spells just don't break the game anymore (a good thing). Plus, in 5.0, things like unlimited flying are actually really hard to come by.

well long enough that it doesn't matter, there's no contest. Until you realize that wizards can only fly for 10 minutes while using concentration, and a giant bat can fly for. Now, paladins don't get this spell until level 5 at the earliest, and wizards can already learn "fly" by then, so it seems sort of balanced. But the one game-breaker is that it can fly. It's a "beast" (similar to animal) and it's not particularly strong in combat it's a large creature that has been used as a mount in other fantasy lore. So, completely ignoring the whole "range (self)" question that is really just a sideshow in my opinion, this spell really doesn't seem to have any kind of specific limit or even much of an implied one on what can be used as a steed, other than pure "DM fiat." It gives a few examples and uses the word "animal" to say the DM may allow other animals, but that's not a keyword (like beast) and it's ambiguous as to whether that's restrictive or just inclusive.Īll that to say: is there any reasonable excuse not to get a giant bat with this spell? They're only CR 1/4, so it's not like it's out of line with the warhorse example.
